More than a one-night affair…

Challenging Rain: Thuy + Huy 2.6.10

As if they were kisses from the sky, droplets of water gently began to descend from above as Huy & Thuy were pronounced Husband & Wife.

They started out slow & scattered, but much like the chatter & glee of the 300+ guests who joined us today, in a matter of minutes- it was a downpour.

YYEEEESSS!!!

To understand my excitement, let’s go back a little bit… to 10 am on the BIG day…  I was in the studio, which is just a few miles away from Admiral Kidd Club, the location of the day’s event. Ceremony plans were outdoors, back-up plan was indoors…on the dance floor, with guests at their dinner seats. Uhm No. I didn’t like that option at all.  It was pouring. I mean slamming on the windows and screaming at me; “Hey Brenda!! I know you love me, so here I am!!” UGH. Really? I must I prove my love for you today?

I got in my car, headed to the venue, and just stared out towards the city from the spot where my Bride would say “I do”- still pondering what to do, I figured unloading favor boxes would give me direction, then I overheard the staff say ” That’s gonna be the Wedding Planner’s call.” Hey, that’s me, who is it that I have to call??  LOL. I had to a make a decision, where does everyone set up?? Play it safe and do it inside, or be in contempt of the weather gods and set up outside? After an eight-minute pep talk with myself, I told the venue- “Set them up outside! Let’s go!” – they looked at me all kinds of crazy and even asked me not to be mad if it started to rain. For the next hour and a half, I was tucking menus in napkins, putting favors out, and watching the clouds oh so closely. EEK! It was as if I was waiting to walk down the aisle myself! The anticipation & anxiety was killing me!! The next moments were all but a blur…

Wedding Party arrived, Bride & Groom were onsite, guests were on-time… Groomsmen on top of it getting everyone in their seats quick…  cue DJ, enter officiant, somewhere over the rainbow begins to play, grab an interim bridesmaid from the congregation and let’s go! We are having a wedding folks… a beautiful, dry, magnificent wedding.  YYYEEEESSSS!!

I was so happy (and thankful to the powers that be) to have had the wedding outside, just as my lovely bride wanted, that I didn’t even mind the sudden rush of 300 people trying to find their seats all at once (instead of the normal trickle-in of guests, because most normally meander outside awhile, enjoy the view, take pictures, and eat some hor devours). It was crazy hectic, the skyline room was packed to the brim, and the chocolate fountain could not have started fast enough! But man oh man, was it such a relief that nature once again was on my side! Thuy & Huy were incredibly happy too!

One of my favorite parts of a wedding is seeing the Groom just glow when he looks at his bride. It’s so beautiful-in such a publicly intimate moment, to see the sparkles in their eyes… aaww, you just want to melt. Ok ok, but I’m not trying to be a sappy romantic. Thuy & Huy were amazing! With their infectious smiles and their gracious attitudes, sharing this day as a part of their vendor team was really a breeze. With me for the celebration were Narrative Images for photography, A Perfect Table for linens, Shirley the cake lady with her fabulous cake, Chris from DJ Guy for music, Arc de Belle provided the ceremony arch (thanks guys for setting up outside against the odds!), topped off with the sweetest; Mike & Lovely with Lovely chair covers & fountains who provided the delish chocolate fountains I had to put effort into staying away from!

Here are some pictures from the celebration… didn’t have a chance to take too many, but you gotta love those iPhone shots 🙂 XXO!!

p.s. don’t forget to leave some comment love~

Quickest Bridal Party line-up ever!

Here comes the (dry) bride

Two of my fave things: Men in Uniform & Sword Arches!

Love me some Men in Uniform! The Marine on the left is Huy's brother

Married! And sharing their First Dance <3"

Nom Nom Nom- this was a tower of a cake!

Mike spreading the choco-fountain love with fellow vendors.

Getting some love from the groom, Huy 🙂

and from the beautiful bride Thuy (+ brother) 🙂

7 responses

  1. Great instincts Brenda. Love your teal shirt!

    February 7, 2010 at 9:33 am

  2. Diana Chaney

    I am so happy the rain waited long enough for the “I do’s.” Great job B!

    February 7, 2010 at 11:56 am

  3. gabriellefox

    Great job trusting your instincts and going for it! I bet they were super happy.

    February 8, 2010 at 10:50 am

  4. Danielle

    Yay! I was thinking about you on Saturday. So glad it worked out!

    February 8, 2010 at 12:31 pm

  5. i hope u dont have to make that call NEXT weekend 😀

    February 18, 2010 at 12:30 am

    • Me neither! It’s nerve wracking! The ironic thing is that on the same weekend, last year, I totally had the same exact call to make at Carrie & Chris’- YOU were there, remember??

      February 18, 2010 at 10:16 am

  6. Nancy

    The wedding was beautiful! Huy is my cousin and now we have a new addition to the family, Thuy. It was quite perfect how everything turned out. I noticed you put the guy on the left of the image is Huy’s brother? haha I’m not sure if thats him. Unless there’s an unknown brother I do not know of. His brother was the one who did the minister work for the ceremony. However the wedding was amazing!

    February 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Leave a Reply

