More than a one-night affair…

Wait what? I WON??

I was getting my hair done by my fabulous hair dresser, Mei-Li Rockot, reading one of the many trashy magazines at her salon in Tierrasanta, when suddenly my phone blew up… Yes, it blew up. The texts started to come in faster than I could even slide the the “unlock” bar on my iphone. I couldn’t even open the message window to read one of them. Finally, at a small pause, I saw one that read “Congratulations!” but had NO CLUE what it was referring to, even though I had known that the results for Bridal Insider’s People’s Choice Awards were being announced that day. Then Mei-li stopped beautifying me & offered me her computer so I could see it for myself… and there it was: 1st Place for San Diego Wedding Coordination.

O.M.G.

While certainly excited, I was quite shocked, happily shocked obviously, but never the less, surprised I had won. I mean there are some incredibly talented, tenured, amazing coordinators out there, some of who I secretly admire, and others who have taken the time to teach me a thing or two (or ten) in the last few years. I wanted to cry…happy tears of course… I mean this is quite the honor, perhaps not for some but for me, it was a sort of validation that all I have been doing is worth it and it means something, to someone… a lot of someones AND that I am doing it well. Now, I do realize that it isn’t necessary to have validation from anyone, to feel accomplished or excited. But its great icing on the cake! My first week working 100% for myself started off FABULOUSLY. Who could have asked for anything better?? What excites me more, is that it can only get better right? Keep doing what I am doing, but better and only good things will come.

Without sounding like some sort of Academy Award recipient, I would like to Thank everyone that voted for me, all the couples who believed in the unknown “part time, word of mouth, has never advertised” coordinator. All of the fabulous vendors who also supported me and sent me those couples. Of course, my wonderfully supportive family & husband. Nobody gets anywhere alone. I certainly have not. I very much look forward to continuing on this path!!

WOOT!!!!

2009PCA_459_80

5 responses

  1. Lori Foote

    Aww, great post Brenda – It’s true that there are many amazing coordinators here in SD, but the personal touch and level of service that you provide shows in the number of votes you received. Congrats again and keep doing what you’re doing!

    July 14, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  2. theguthriefamily

    Yay!!! Love! ❤ Much deserved!

    July 14, 2009 at 10:58 pm

  3. Alli Easley

    CONGRATS AGAIN! You rock, sista. AND you deserve it.

    July 15, 2009 at 6:36 am

  4. Congrats! That’s awesome news, oh and the new blog looks great!

    July 21, 2009 at 8:25 pm

  5. Congratulations Brenda! You are awesome!! So happy for you!! 🙂

    July 21, 2009 at 9:59 pm

Leave a Reply

