More than a one-night affair…

On the cusp of “acceptable”

Working on my fitness is definitely something I am NOT afraid of. In fact, I am more likely to try a new exercise program over any fad diet any day of the week…besides I like to eat, and I much rather run off a splurge than to have to keep myself from enjoying delights and deliciousness. Food is so much more than organic intake…but that’s a whole other blog. Today we are talking about my new adventure in the fitness world…

Yes, I have decided to work with a Personal Trainer… One-on-One… with Greg over at  Fitness Together in Point Loma. I know what you are thinking… I’ve done this before, boot camps, trainers who are starting out, trainers who claim to be trainers and later I found out they weren’t, friends who are really fit and I pay to be my trainers… Like with food, often I make good choices, sometimes I don’t, what are you gonna do? Learn from it and move forward…I’d like to think I am pretty satisfied with my overall health, but everyone needs improvement, that’s just life, a constant state of growth & improvement right? Besides, maintenance my friends… maintenance, just gets harder and it’s required more often as you get older… I know you wont believe it, but I am not actually 21…LOL. It’s like when you take your car in for that 30,ooo mile service… you know your car’s got a lot of life left in it, but you have to make sure that you’re looking after it and on some sort of schedule so that you can get the most mileage out of it. Yes, I just compared my body to a car. Tell me that isn’t funny figuratively speaking!

Ok but enough car jokes… Accountability and Commitment are perhaps the biggest challenges when trying to reach any goals. While I do not feel I have problems with either, I have decided that I need to post all my stats here so that I can be held accountable and perhaps even inspire some of you out there who are either facing a fitness slump, need a new hobby, or like me, apparently don’t have enough sources of stress induced comic reief. I will be posting pictures in the future, but for now, you will have to imagine the short, round, cuteness I am that goes with my stats which are on the “Cusp of Acceptable” for someone of my age/weight/height.

So here it goes… I can’t believe I am going to post all this!! >>GASP<<

On 6.22.09

Height: 5′ 4″

Weight: 155 lbs

Body Fat: 28.9%

I could be so bold as post my measurements too, but really, no further embarrasment is needed, you get the point… Numerically speaking, I am on the “cusp of acceptable” health for someone with my stats. I have no special circumstances other than I am over worked and under slept, all self-induced of course… and my numbers need to get down to a “Good/Ideal” rating of 145lbs, and about 24% body fat. Doesn’t sound like a lot right? Ha! Lets hope that serious training three days a week, plus a little Disney Half Marathon Training in-between will do the trick to a permanent lifestyle change…

After my very first work out since my last boot camp class in Mid-December, I’m feeling motivated, scared, and sore! But I am looking forward to the next three month… wish me luck!

3 responses

  1. Julia

    Very inspiring Brenda! Best wishes in your training. You’ll achieve your goal in no time!

    June 24, 2009 at 8:27 am

  2. Alli E.

    Ooo, I’d do the half with you but I have a wedding on the 6th! I’m thinking of doing DisneyWorld’s in January.

    July 7, 2009 at 12:55 am

  3. My sister suggested calling it “play time” – and she schedules “play dates” with friends – so every day she does something to “move her body”… Even if it’s just a long walk on the beach… or dancing… I really want to learn how to play tennis… It looks like fun and I imagine to be fantastic cardio! Or maybe someday, some kind of dance class… I used to do bootcamp style training with a great trainer out of La Jolla – met some really great friends there… After a while, it really did feel like play time! Good luck! ♥

    July 7, 2009 at 1:01 am

Leave a Reply

